History

History of Ascension

Ascension began as the vision of the vestry of St. John’s Episcopal Church, now the Cathedral of the Diocese of East Tennessee, to plant a mission church in rural West Knoxville. The West Knoxville Fellowship was formed and its members began evening meetings in members' homes. Through the gifts of land by the Van Deventer family and a hugely successful member canvass of our founding families, the Church of the Ascension was granted full parish status in 1957 with a congregation numbering around 225.

The church prospered and grew as people moved west from Downtown Knoxville. In 1986 a major addition to the nave was completed, increasing its seating capacity to 650 people. The Rev. David M. Potts was called to be the first rector in 1957. Today, Ascension has over 600 members with an average Sunday attendance over 300. Our current Priest-in-Charge is The Rev. Christopher Hogin. 

The hallmarks of Ascension, both past and present, are strong member leadership, a highly engaged congregation, a high level of giving, and a talented, dedicated staff. Throughout its history, Ascension has thrived and pressed forward in its mission: to enable ourselves and others to experience God in Christ, to seek and serve Him in others, to grow towards Christ and to proclaim Him to the world.

Timeline of Ascension

19xx
West Knoxville Fellowship is first established.
1987
A major addition to the nave is completed, increasing Ascension's seating capacity to 650.
1957
Church of the Ascension is granted full parish status and Reverend David M. Potts is called to be the first rector.
Present
Ascension continues to thrive under Fr. Christopher Hogin with over 600 members and an average Sunday attendance over 300.